Tuesday, March 24, 2009

My new obsession


So my new obsession is my new phone and Twitter. That is what is up with me.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Since someone told me to update...

Been doing a lot of movie watching lately, gearing up for the Main Event – the Oscars! I've been a little underwhelmed with the movies, they are all ending the same. Just because someone kills themselves does not make the movie deep. I'm really sick and tired of this plot. Suicide is not profound and worthy of thought. Stop glorifying it Hollywood. Seriously. I'm sick of it.

So- my commentary on the contenders –

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button- Ok. Seriously? This was the movie with the MOST nominations. That is so unfortunate. The movie was definitely worthy of its technical nominations, but BEST MOVIE?!? Please. This movie was a bad rip off of Forest Gump and Big Fish. They tried to fit too many life experiences into one movie, and it ended up being a big jumple of uneccesary scenes. In my opinion.

Frost/Nixon- Have not seen this movie yet, but will watch either today or tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

MILK- Best movie by far. This movie should win. Will it? No. Sean Penn will (or better!) get best actor, but honestly this movie was moving in ways the other movies failed in my opinion.

The Reader- I'll admit, a very unique story. It was very captivating. But really? The ending just got to me. Maybe because it was the umpteenth million movie I saw this year that ended in suicide. It's getting old people, really really old. Kate Winslet was great though.

Slumdog Millionare- This movie will get the prize, because it is sort of the unsung hero of the Oscars. I did like this movie and I'll admit it was extremely unique. I will not be upset to see this movie get its award. It came in second for me, behind MILK.

Other notes regarding movies:

The Wrestler- I did like this movie, but it just didn't move me like I thought it was going to. People really built this one up and I wasn't super impressed. Though Rourke and Tomei did good jobs. Once again, was the ending really neccesary?

Doubt- Hands down the best acting in any of the movies this season. I thought it was epic. Though I have never seen the stage version of this, I was so happy they made a movie version and I thought the casting was very apropos.

Rachel Getting Married- Very artsy, sort of film class sort of movie. Anne Hathaway's performance is worthy of her nomination and carried the movie in my opinion.

The Changeling- More specifically Angelina Jolie. This is awful. This is Hollywood bending over backwards to make sure its king and queen (UGH Brangelina) feel worthy and attend. Its utter BS. This role was not that great and in my opinon just an imiation of her performance in "A Mighty Heart." Which was a better movie. Instead of screaming for her husband, she is just screaming for her child in this one. Bleh. SHE. IS. SO. NOT. WORTHY. She seriously just needs to go away already. I'm sick of it.

Revolutionary Road- This was the snub of the awards season. I thought the acting was great and it was an interesting critism of how life "should" go with the kids, the white picket fence, etc. But once again, not an original ending.

So there is my recap. I would like to challenge the film makers in Hollywood to make a positive piece with superb acting. I'd like to see something a little more positive nominated for Best Picture. It's been a long time since we have glorified happiness. I guess that just doesn't sell, but I'm getting a little depressed with the choice of movies as of late. It's either total bublegum (Bride Wars, He's Just Not That Into You) or complete downers (everything nominated).

One more note. Finished watching Gran Torino last night. I went into it thinking I wasn't going to like it and was completely suprised. I really liked it and personally think it should have gotten some nominations itself.

Monday, January 12, 2009

I think I've got a location



I think I found the location for my wedding this weekend. Check it out:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2027701&l=ba894&id=34700404

Thursday, January 08, 2009

Google Reader is amazing!

So Google Reader, where have you been all my life? You allow me to never, ever have to visit the actual website of the many (and sometimes annoyingly ad ridden) blogs I visit. And you make sure I never miss a post. Your reader system updates in my tabs when something new is posted (just like an email!). So amazing. I don't know how I have missed out on this.

I am able to follow all of my gossip, narrative and newsy blogs. I can even follow local bloggers who I am a fan of. Essentially this wonderful little reader has made it so I never have to browse the internet again.

I realize I am figuring out about this technology a little late, but it is perfect for work. Because when you look at Google Reader, it essentially looks like an email webpage or whatnot. It's not the annoying ad ridden often glaringly obvious I'm-not-doing-work-related-browsing that so many of pages are.

Also on top of learning about Google Reader, I figured out how to make a screen capture today. Not that I need to do it that much it is something cool to know.

Hooray for technology!

P.S. Click on photo to enlarge to see what Google Reader actually looks like.

Sunday, January 04, 2009

I got a kitty


So I went and adopted a kitty (she is 11 months old) today!
She has the most beautiful green eyes you'll ever see on a cat and she has markings of a tabby and tortoise!

I'm so happy!!!

Saturday, January 03, 2009

I'm getting hitched!


So Mike asked me to marry him just before Christmas at the Sharks game. Yay! That is the ring above. It was his grandmother's (that is why it is on my pinky, we are getting it resized).

So now I'm planning a wedding. It's a lot tougher than I expected it to be, and I've only just begun the process. I've also chosen my bride's maids.



There is Lauren, my Maid of Honor.



Mira, my close friend from high school.


Kelsey, my close friend from college.

and....


Amanda, the little sister I never had.

So its going to be an exciting road these next few months. I'm hoping to have an August wedding and trying to keep it affordable for my parents might be a bit difficult but I'm excited!!!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

I voted. You should too!



Remember to vote Nov. 4. If you are in California and you can't vote or it might be inconvenient Nov. 4, vote early. Look up your local registrar of voters online for any questions you might have. Above everything though, please please go get your voice heard.

And while you are at it, a NO on 8 and YES for Obama would be great. ;-)

I voted. Turned in my absentee ballot at my local city hall this morning. Did you know you can do that? Don't even have to pay postage.



Spread the message and encourage all your friends to vote. It's important. No matter what your opinions are. I want our children to grow up and be proud that their parents were involved and cared about what mattered when they were young.

Friday, October 24, 2008

Equality for all



Been reading a book about racism this month. On top of reading all the Yes on 8 garbage and seeing all the support against gay people I am reminded of how much the issue of gay rights and racial rights are similar.

Equality for all people. I don't care if you don't agree with their lifestyle, they are still human and deserve to be treated as such. Learning about them will not infect your children. Acting like they don't exist will, you only seek to spread the hate you harbor when you don't accept people for who they are.

And stop believing the lies the TV ads tell you.

This is exactly how we treated African Americans. Exactly. Only now we are doing it to gay people. They are people too and they deserve the same respect you bestow upon everyone. Stop the hate. STOP. IT. NOW.

Vote no on H8te!

Monday, October 20, 2008

Fun fill in the blank blog

Go to urbandictionary.com and type in your answer to each question in the search box, then write the most amusing definition it gives you.

1. Your name:
2. Your age:
3. One of your friends:
4. What should you be doing?
5. Your favourite colour:
6. Your birthplace:
7. Last person you talked to:
8. Last thing you had to drink:
9. Your nickname:

My results:
1. adj., awesome, cool, neat.
"that jet plane is so traci!"
2. The age at which one can finally rent a car in the United States without being charged enormous amounts of money and without having to sign thousands of papers for that matter.
I got stabbed and mugged in the subway because I woulda had to pay $100 more per day for renting a car cuz im not 25 yet!
3. The most awesome event, person, or place.
That party was so Amanda!
4. Jargon for the act of diving to catch the disk in the game ultimate frisbee.
you should have laid out to catch that.
5. Money
homies always askin fo some green.
6. The most over looked city in Orange County. Most people who live in The OC haven't heard of it. For those who don't know, it is between Huntington Beach, Westminister, and Santa Ana. It is home to about 2 Starbucks cafes and 20 7-11's.
Person 1: I live in Fountain Valley.
Person 2: Where?
Person 1: In Orange County.
Person 2: Oh SWEET! You must be like, RICH!
Person 1: No. *punches Person 2*
7. One who circulates the room without reason.
that party was full of elizas.
8. A uniquely American drink that apparently tea drinkers outside the US just don't get. Both refreshing and caffeinated, but be careful what you order -- Southerners like it really, really sweet.
Ah, iced tea. My wirewater of choice.
9. Describes the act of following in someone's particular way of life, like using tracing paper to make a duplicate of an original.
man, don't trace those kids, be yourself.

I don't know what this all means, but I think I have decided the Urbandictionary is pretty much filled with a bunch of crap.

P.S. Sorry I haven't blogged in awhile.

Friday, August 22, 2008

Mother Nature is confused


I'm not complaining here but I think Earth is confused.

After an extremely mild summer here in the Bay Area the leaves have already started to change colors and have already begun littering the streets.

I love fall. It is my favorite season, I just don't want it cut drastically short because of this random weather we have had this summer.

Anyway on a side note I am concluding my summer with a vacation to Lake Tahoe. So I will be incommunicado until Sept. 1. But if you need me.... you know the number.

Thursday, August 07, 2008

I love teachers but....

Look I love what teachers do for the world. Really I do.

But I am upset. They won't give me the time of day today, this week, EVER. I've tried everything – stalked the classrooms, talked to the principals even gone to the Superintendent's office and nothing has connected me with them.

They are all apparently too busy to give me the time of day. I can't even bug them while they are setting up their classrooms. Hey I can even help you set up your class – I have expert experience in that!

BUT NO.

I'm too busy sorry.

OR-

You email them and NEVER hear back from them. And when I say never I mean NEVER.

Now I am logical. I realize where their priorities lie, in the students. BUT I WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO DO MY JOB AS THE SCHOOLS REPORTER UNLESS I CAN TALK TO SOME FREAKING TEACHERS.

I realize what they do is noble. But it would be great if they would get off their high horse for all of 15 minutes and give me a quick interview. The topic isn't even controversial.

I am done for today. I have completely checked out. DONE.

Sunday, July 27, 2008

I didn't like The Dark Knight

So I didn't like The Dark Knight. There I said it. And I know I am probably the only one on Earth that feels this way, but I really didn't like it and here is why:

I didn't like Christian Bale as Batman in this movie (let me preface this by saying I did like him in Batman Begins). I guess I don't really like how Batman was portrayed in this movie. He was too brooding, I get it he was supposed to be transitioning to The Dark Knight, but it was just awkward to watch because I didn't believe his performance, I thought it was weak.

And what the heck was with the deep Batman voice, it was way too deep and off balance. It was freaking overkill.

I also didn't believe that Maggie Gyllenhaal's character was sexy. Not at all, and I don't get why she seemed so unattainable. I get that Batman has this past with her, but what the hell does Harvey Dent see in her. I did not feel her emotional connection with either Batman or Harvey Dent. And can I say she looked old, tired and haggard during the film, which didn't really add to her character's appeal (but I still love her as an actress, just not in this role).

The plot went here, there and every where and tried to throw in tricks here and there. I was able to predict those surprises before they happened, which didn't really impress me considering all the hype this movie has received. I also thought the plot had too many elements in it, I found it hard to follow at times.

The only redeemable thing about this movie (and let's face it, it's mostly the reason so many people will see this movie) is to see the extremely chilling and creepy performance of the Joker by Heath Ledger. It was amazing and the most brilliant portrayal of the Joker, but I can tell you I really felt morbid watching it all.

So overall I really did not like this movie. It was worth going to to see The Joker, but other than that the rest of the movie really failed to impress me. And I do not understand all the hype. Seriously, people seeing it 3-4 times? I don't get it. I don't think I want to see it again.

This movie, in my humble opinion, is getting too much hype. WAY too much hype.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

Boycott


Let me preface this post by I realize I am way lame for watching a reality show and feeling this strong about it. Yeah, I get it, just work with me on this.

No more So You Think You Can Dance. NO MORE. Tonight, Will, the best and most talented person on the show got voted off, by America.

Because this contest is not about TALENT, no it's about how America votes, which at this point in the competition is ridiculous because how on earth can you let good contestants go like WILL! He was the best- he deserved to win the whole thing.

And I can complain because I did vote for Will. I voted for him 15 times last night. I am so angry. SO ANGRY.

Will was the most well-rounded and capable person on that show, and I am so irritated right now. I am boycotting the rest of the season. No point in watching if the person who deserves to win isn't going to.

No more So You Think You Can Dance. NO MORE.

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Emmy nods



I can't even begin to express my excitement for both Neil Patrick Harris and Kristen Chenoweth for their much deserved supporting actor gigs! Kudos many times over.

And I have to admit, I know he is gay, but I have a huge crush on NPH.

Anyway hooray for Emmy Nominations coming out today. Looks like a good bunch of people got nods. Check it out.

Monday, July 14, 2008

Picture tour of a picturesque weekend

So this was a jam-packed weekend. But a good one at that.

The weekend started with dinner and an old fashioned flick at the Stanford Theatre with my good friend Marie and Alexis. We saw Strategic Air Command, starring Jimmy Stewart and some horrible representation of a woman playing his wife. The movie was full of Cold War propaganda and horrible anti-feminism sentiments. All in all though it was a fun evening.



The next morning I woke up bright and early to work my shift at the Los Altos Art & Wine festival. Our paper has a both there where we try to hawk subscriptions and we pass out ballons (with our logo on it) to the little kiddies.



At the festival I bought a print by this really cool artist. Here is one of his pieces (not the one I got).



After the Art and Wine festival it was off to the beach. Where I was going to meet up with my friend Raj and some old friends from the dorms. We went to Seabright Beach right next to the BoardWalk in Santa Cruz, but way less crowded. Here is picture of that beach, when I get pictures from the event I'll update this post.



After the beach, which was packed with frisbee, football, dogs and friends, I headed back over the hill to Mike's where his parent's were. We all went out to dinner then saw John Caparulo at Rooster T. Feather's in Sunnyvale. He was so great and everything we were hoping. Way way funny. Check him out!



The next day I met up with my good friend Amanda and we went to Cow Hollow in San Francisco to get some brunch. We didn't get to go to the place we hoped, but we still ordered the delicious items at a place that was somewhat subpar.



After brunch we headed over the Golden Gate Bridge for a tour of Mill Valley.



First she drove me to town, where we saw the cute downtown, her office and some of the beautiful estates. All the while Mount Tamalpias was in the background.



Then Amanda took up up Mt. Tam to show me where they hold the Mountain Play and the beautiful view that goes along with it.



After we reached the empty stadium and admired the view we headed back down the mountain the back way. Where we were greeted with beautiful town of Stinson Beach. We continued to drive up highway 1 until we were almost in Pt. Reyes.



Overall it was an amazing day with a beautiful ride up the northern coast. Good company of course and beautiful scenery. I'm glad I got to share it all with you.

P.S. I didn't take any of these pictures because I forgot my camera but wanted to remember everything about this weekend so I took stuff from other websites.

Wednesday, July 02, 2008

Ch-ch-changes

So I went to see a wonderful musical last night, "Snapshots." Composed by Stephen Schwartz who also composed "Wicked" and "Enchanted."

Anyway the musical which was basically about how a relationship turned sour over 30 years reminded me of another creative version of The Last Five Years. Also a really good musical, if you haven't checked it out you need to. Like now.

Anyway I got some news this week about one of my close friends who ended her engagement. It was sort of a shock. What was even more of a shock was her reconnection with an old flame. I would like to say her first real flame, from high school.

I am happy she is doing what makes her happy. And after watching a musical last night which illustrated how two people grew apart over 30 years, I am glad she made this decision before she got married and had children down the road.

She is doing what she needs to do, its just so crazy that after everything that has happened, things might end up like they once were, seven years ago.

I really don't have a real reason for this post. It just got me thinking about the past and the way things used to be. I'm happy I am where I am at right now, but I am also grateful for the past because it is what got me to the spot I'm at right now.

I'm thankful for my friends, past and present. They've each had a part in making me the woman I am today, and I wouldn't change that for a million bucks. Well maybe for a million bucks, times are hard these days!

Friday, June 13, 2008

Shoreline is a freakin' rip-off

So I sent my wonderful boyfriend to Shoreline this week to get tickets for Brad Paisley's Shoreline concert next week – lawn seats are only $20.

To buy the tickets online the service charges would total $13.80 extra a ticket- that is more that 50% the ticket price.

So I sent Mike to the box office (which by the way is only open 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on weekdays, ummmm WTF?) where he went to buy the tickets with about a $9.25 service charge per ticket for "convenience fees!" UMMMM its very inconvenient for my boyfriend to drive to your box office so why are we still paying these freaking fees?

Apparently if you go on Sunday, between 10 a.m. and 2 pm. you don't have to pay some of those fees, about $5, but you still have to pay other fees, I think.

Um I realize if there are extra printing costs or whatever, just up the price of the concert ticket. I'd feel better about paying for a $30 concert ticket without paying 50 percent in extra fees! For some reason fees that add up to be more or about 50 percent of your ticket price seems ridiculous!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Taylor Swift - Should've Said No Live Awards

Needed a little cheering up this morning so I watched this career defining performance by Taylor Swift. I can't believe she is only 18 (or 17 I think). She is so talented.

Wednesday, June 04, 2008

How apropos



Isn't this great timing. My calendar listing for this month is titled "Communication." Oh how hilarious.

Things are a little better now. I was able to get my point across with my publisher and he doesn't think I am doing a crap job or anything.

I just wish he would quit emailing me and actually get up and have a chat with people when he has an issue rather than sending out weak emails. That is not how you improve COMMUNICATION in the office.

ARGH

Well I didn't think I'd post for awhile, I was enjoying Twitter too much.

But now someone has gone and ticked me off.

How the heck am I expected to do my job when no one, except the community maybe, is appreciating what I am writing as of late?

I get it, budget stories aren't interesting, BUT when the local district is facing cuts and a deficit, which would affect the spotless reputation of education in this town, it is important to cover!

AND when the papers shrink and I get like, maybe 4 pages to fit in everything, I have to delay those heartwarming frivolous features. DEAL WITH IT.

I'm sorry I thought my job was to make sure the news got out first. I was taught news first, features second.

And if you have an issue with my section, take me aside and speak with me. Don't send some freakin' email to the office with your comments on how my section doesn't meet your standards.

I'm offended and hurt. I've been working my tail off lately and all I get is these sorts of comments – and I'm pretty sure that my editor and publisher don't even read my stories. As soon as they see budget, they gloss over it, even though it is important!